halovox features intelligent, emotional lyrics and melodic modern music that sounds new yet nostalgically familiar to fans of 80s alternative, electronic and industrial. What sets halovox apart from other electronic bands is the songwriting and vocals of its creator, Frank J. Freda.

From the mid to late 90s Frank began writing songs. He placed several demo songs on under the band name "Deep Freeze". A friend and coworker asked Frank for a tape of his music to share with Kris Heireth of Brand New Idol.

In October of 1999, brothers Kris and Tim Heireth were going to produce Frank's synthpop ballad "Silent Whispers". While working on the song the threesome hit it off and Frank was asked to join their band. Frank joined Brand New Idol and became their lead vocalist and also contributed to the band as a synth player and songwriting partner.

Brand New Idol's debut CD "Still Beautiful Falling Apart" was released in November of 2001 and received high praise. All of the songs on the album charted in the top 5 on the New Wave and Darkwave charts on The Electrogarden Network Community voted Brand New Idol "Unsigned Artist of the Year" and "Still Beautiful Falling Apart" was voted "Album of the Year" for 2001.

In early 2002, Frank was invited to collaborate with good friend Ross Beall on his Simulator project. Frank wrote lyrics and provided guest vocals on Simulator's debut CD "Enter The Unknown" which was released by Cohaagen in the spring of 2002. The CD was positively reviewed and led to several 2002 Electrogarden Network Community Awards nominations.

Throughout 2002, Brand New Idol played live shows in New York City, New Jersey, Connecticut and Long Island. In late 2002, Frank left Brand New Idol to create a project that would take full advantage of his talents and halovox was born. Heavily inspired by artists such as Depeche Mode, Camouflage, Front 242, Nitzer Ebb, Ministry and Nine Inch Nails Frank set out to create a sound that would honor these influences and also break new ground.

The first official halovox production was a 2003 remix of A Different Drum artist The Echoing Green. halovox contributed "Fall Awake (Catcher in the Rye Mix)" which appeared on the "Fall Awake" single.

halovox released 4 songs online in 2003 that were very well received. Among them, "Deception" received airplay in clubs around the world and gained major support from DJ Tim Cody, host of Subculture Live on the world famous WLIR on Long Island. Those four songs plus an additional nine original compositions and a breathtaking cover of the Depeche Mode classic "Fly On The Windscreen" made up the 14 track debut halovox self-titled CD released in the summer of 2004. In support of this release, halovox played numerous dates in New York, Long Island and New Jersey.

In 2004, A Different Drum requested another remix, this time for Provision. halovox remixed "Each Second Suffering" which appeared on a limited edition bonus disc bundled with the Provision album "Visualize".

Then in 2005, "Retrospect" by halovox was invited to appear on A Different Drum's massive 6 CD "State of Synthpop" collection. Also in 2005, "Deception" appeared on WSVNRadio Hall of Fame compilation Volume 15.

halovox also participated in some high profile shows, opening for Freezepop at the 2005 New York Synthpop Festival and APB at Subculture in December of 2006.

After a hiatus from 2007 to 2009, halovox began playing live shows again in 2010 while working on songs for the second album.

In January 2012 halovox released their highly anticipated second album "Everybody Lies".The album contains 12 new songs that feature the trademark halovox sound of intelligent and emotional lyrics coupled with danceable electronica that ranges in style from synthpop to industrial. Featuring live show favorites "Everybody Lies", "Mask", "Stalker", "It's Not Me It's You" and "iGod" the new album showcases the ongoing evolution of halovox.

In 2013 halovox produced a remix of "Still So Wrong" by Vaylon.

In December of 2013 halovox released "Retrospect" to clelebrate the 10 year anniversary of halovox. The album features remixes of popular halovox songs by Interface, Simulator, Vaylon, Pretorium, A Modern Effigy, The Dossier, Kevin Lux, Erotic Elk, Veeohla, Synthetik FM and Adrian Halo.

In December of 2015 halovox was featured on Synth Radio's Camouflage tribute album, "The Great Compliment". halovox covered "Together" from Camouflage's 2003 album, "Sensor".

After a 5 year break, halovox produced a remix of "No Turning Back" for Flying Dark in 2020. In 2021 halovox was featured on Second Complex's album, "Therapy". Frank shares lead vocals on "Spirit" with Ole Ulrich Jensen of Vaylon.

halovox is currently working on new music that will be released in 2022.